Why I hate TV

It’s about 9:30 on a Sunday night. Usually, Fox has a pretty good lineup on Sunday nights. The Simpsons, Family Guy, American Dad. So I come down here, expecting to find those shows. Of course, this is New Year’s Day. So naturally, they can’t just air the shows I’m expecting to see; not even reruns of said shows. No, in it’s place, Fox is showing Vertical Limit. I really wish I had the words to describe just what an atrociously bad movie Vertical Limit is, but I don’t.

Alright, I say to myself. Obviously, Fox doesn’t want my viewership. That’s fine, I don’t feel insulted by this or anything. Plenty of people don’t want to do business with me, Fox is just the most recent on that list. Plus, there are sixty some odd channels offering a mind boggling amount of content that I can opt to consume – surely, I can just watch one of them instead.

So I watched the preview channel for about ten minutes to see what’s on. Nothing. I spend the next ten minutes or so just channel surfing, in case there’s something that catches my eye, perhaps something I didn’t recognize by title on the preview channel. Nothing. I go back to the preview channel; hasn’t changed. I check the listings on Yahoo, just to be sure. Same result. I look at a couple of TV web sites, just to see what they have to say is worth watching tonight. It’s all crap.

So there you have it. The thing that I wanted to watch has been pre-empted without warning in favor of utter crapola, and out of sixty frigging available channels, not a single one has one bloody thing worth watching.

Leave a Reply

