My hero

I’ll admit that I’m envious of some of the people who built many of the web’s best blogs and sites. Not because of the money involved (which there really isn’t much of, except for a few cases), but rather just because I’d like to create something that so many people enjoy. It’s gotta be a thrill to build something so many people connect to.

In any case, I have a new hero in this domain: Mark Zuckerberg, the twenty-two year old CEO of Facebook. He built something that millions use, millions love, and is currently valued at around a billion dollars.

But this is my favorite part:

Yahoo! is in talks to buy Facebook for an amount up to $1 billion, according to this page one piece today in the Wall Street Journal. This set of negotiations comes on the heels of Facebook’s talks with Microsoft and Viacom, intense bidding for something that was a college project two-and-a-half years ago.

You would think Facebook’s 22 year-old CEO Mark Zuckerberg’s head would be spinning — he owns 30% of the company — but, nah, he’s sticking to his old ways. According to the Journal piece, Facebook executives turned down an 8:00 a.m. conference call with Microsoft because Zuckerberg doesn’t wake up that early.

There’s a man with priorities I can respect. If I had but one goal in life, it would be to reach a position where I can turn down a potentially $1 Billion deal because I want to sleep late. He’s a man with his priorities straight: Family, life, then work. It takes a lot of balls to show that to corporate execubots at big companies like this; I respect that.

Edited to add:

The original Wall Street Journal article is behind their damned paywall, which is why I haven’t quoted it directly (or even read it myself). Techcrunch offers another anecdote from the same article though, in the same vein as the above:

At one point in the Yahoo negotiations, the talks extended into the weekend, says a person familiar with the matter. Mr. Zuckerberg, this account continues, said he couldn’t take part because his girlfriend was in town. Others pointed out they were closing in on a billion-dollar deal. Mr. Zuckerberg said it didn’t matter: his cellphone would be off, this person says.

This dude rocks. I would like very much to buy him a drink one day.

Leave a Reply

